Training Update: Yesterday Was a Big Day

For those who really know me, you know that I love sports.  In fact, I will take it a bit deeper and say I have an obsession with competition.  I have very high expectations of myself, and not reaching those expectations motivated me to push myself harder.  This applies to all walks of life however in the triathlon world, it has not seemed to work out.  Motivation, hard work, consistency, hasn’t really panned out the way I would have hoped.  Or at least I couldn’t see it.  That is until yesterday (Feb 16 2017).

In 2015, I signed up to do my first (and to this point only) Half Ironman at IM Eagleman 70.3 in Cambridge Maryland.  I had big expectations. It was a failure.  The swim was dreadful, I suffered on the bike, and I died on the run.  I finished, but it took me 7hrs.  Way over what I was hoping for.  The swim alone took 50mins with an average pace of 2min 54sec per 100yd.  Oh yea, I was able to walk most of the swim. 

In 2016, I signed up for three sprint races with the hopes that a Podium would be in my sight.  Didn’t happen.  I got pretty close, but I didn’t perform in terms of my expectations. The swim just completely drained me every race. By the time I got on the bike I was exhausted. Not because I started too hard, but because I was just a bad swimmer. It wasn’t working out. 

But yesterday I Made a breakthrough. Yesterday in sight of my first race of 2017 and my second half Ironman and in the road to my first full Ironman I swam 3000yds. One take. No breaks. 2min per 100yds. And it felt great. Not fast but progress. I’ve finally broken through the 1000yd wall I have been fighting for two years.  For the first time in my short triathlon career, I feel like I have figured out the swim. And just in time

Can’t wait to crush the rest of the season. 

Leave a Reply

